make a donation to the fz1oa
fz1oa chat
fz1oa picture uploader
maintain your own photo albums
locate fz1oa members
Members Assistance Guide
search the entire board
click here for fz1oa web site home page
register a new account, it's free!
fz1oa store
email the fz1oa webmasters
read the fz1oa guidelines
read the fz1oa policy
open pat's fz1 site in a new window
open iowaz fz1 site in a new window
technical tips

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > Computers & TechGadgetry

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2016, 03:45 PM   #1
WDD
Registered User
 
WDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,746
Home PC won't boot - bad Windows Update

This is a first. The PC was updating windows, and when it went to restart it got to "87%" completed, and then stopped. Let it sit for 2 hours that way - nothing changed. Power down and back up, it does the same thing. It runs up to 87% complete, and then freezes.

Any way to boot this up in safe mode / etc., and then try and re do the Windows update?

I don't have a remote boot disc or what not.

It is running Windows 10.

Any advice appreciated -
__________________
Not sure what I should put down for my signature.....
WDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 04:03 PM   #2
Desmo
WORST MODERATOR EVER
 
Desmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Palo Alto,CA
Posts: 323,263,324
Get a Mac!!!!!







Sorry. No. I got nuthin. Just wanted to beat Oop to the punch.
__________________
“Faith is a story of order humans impose on the chaos of their existence so their soft brains can bear it.” - Niska
Desmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 04:07 PM   #3
t84a
Real Bikers Pedal
 
t84a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,819
Power it down and then back on. Press the F8 key repeatedly until you get a screen. I'd try the last known good configuration before the safe mode. Hopefully you can get to that screen.
__________________
Ken in Maryland
10 Raider (sold)
08 FZ1 (sold)

JOIN THE AMA
Helmet Fact
My local powder coater
t84a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 06:57 PM   #4
WDD
Registered User
 
WDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by t84a View Post
Power it down and then back on. Press the F8 key repeatedly until you get a screen. I'd try the last known good configuration before the safe mode. Hopefully you can get to that screen.
Thanks! I've got it back now, restored to pre-update. I'll try to update windows again and see what happens.
__________________
Not sure what I should put down for my signature.....
WDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 06:13 AM   #5
jd14771
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDD View Post
Thanks! I've got it back now, restored to pre-update. I'll try to update windows again and see what happens.
if all else fails- do the disk cleanup wizzard- then once it give you the results, look at the bottom and select "Clean system files" then you can delete all of the old update files, re download new ones and hopefully it will update fine.

im on x64 windows 7 right now and there is one update that wont install past 35% no matter what. even fails from the windows update screen too. so don't be surprised if that keeps happening.
jd14771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 05:08 PM   #6
Oldirtyrider
I fall alot
 
Oldirtyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Southcentral east coast FL aka Flatistan
Posts: 256
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRrfUJ2mijk
Oldirtyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 06:13 PM   #7
choprzrul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 108
If it is a security update, Microsoft will give free tech support. You gotta tell them it was a security update....very firmly.....

.
choprzrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 01:15 PM   #8
packnrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: valley springs
Posts: 1,077
Angry

how can one STOP all these stupid auto up dates from microcrap.

they have killed two of my computers over the years. one by filling up the hard drive with "up-dates".
small drive on a laptop.
latest one, now just a black screen and just goes beep. will not reboot. not even geek squad could fix it. only a year old and trash.
packnrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 01:55 PM   #9
t84a
Real Bikers Pedal
 
t84a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,819
Just turn them off.
__________________
Ken in Maryland
10 Raider (sold)
08 FZ1 (sold)

JOIN THE AMA
Helmet Fact
My local powder coater
t84a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:04 PM   #10
smittynsc
Thinking about it
 
smittynsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sumter SC
Posts: 253
Beeps are usually hardware issues.
__________________
smittynsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:54 PM   #11
2wheelmax
Registered User
 
2wheelmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 1,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by smittynsc View Post
Beeps are usually hardware issues.
Sometimes yes and sometimes no.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xqTG3Y4SEo
2wheelmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 06:04 AM   #12
packnrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: valley springs
Posts: 1,077
Post

ok so beeps are hard ware problems. but why just a black screen?
no curser, no icons, nothing. not even a finger of death.

but in a box now. for storage. maybe a new hard drive. with something other than microcrap for a op system.

and this computer now wants to down load microcrap "up-dates.
packnrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 09:11 AM   #13
Desmo
WORST MODERATOR EVER
 
Desmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Palo Alto,CA
Posts: 323,263,324
Every OS on the planet needs software updates. Not just windows.
__________________
“Faith is a story of order humans impose on the chaos of their existence so their soft brains can bear it.” - Niska
Desmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 10:10 AM   #14
Lassiter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo View Post
Get a Mac!!!!!







Sorry. No. I got nuthin. Just wanted to beat Oop to the punch.
That sounds like something 'beet would say!
Lassiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > Computers & TechGadgetry


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Questions? Comments?
Click on name below to contact via PM
Rabeet (Admin) Desmo (Admin)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website and Message Board Contents Copyright 2001-2007 FZ1OA
The marks YAMAHA® and FZ1® are used under license from Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.
The information on this web site is NOT approved or endorsed by Yamaha Motor Corporation in any way.
Page generated in 0.07795 seconds with 9 queries