make a donation to the fz1oa
fz1oa chat
fz1oa picture uploader
maintain your own photo albums
locate fz1oa members
Members Assistance Guide
search the entire board
click here for fz1oa web site home page
register a new account, it's free!
fz1oa store
email the fz1oa webmasters
read the fz1oa guidelines
read the fz1oa policy
open pat's fz1 site in a new window
open iowaz fz1 site in a new window
technical tips

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > FZ1 Problems & Issues > Gen 1 Problems & Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2017, 08:10 PM   #41
YamahaMan444
Young Explorer
 
YamahaMan444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 4,195
unless you have pod filters, which would be visible from the side of the bike, yes you do.

AIS is a totally separate emmissions control thing. Disregard the fact that you don't have it.

Here's how to access your airbox.http://www.cartestsoftware.com/fz1/airfiltercheck.html
__________________
.
YamahaMan444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 07:48 AM   #42
BrothahHeffay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by YamahaMan444 View Post
unless you have pod filters, which would be visible from the side of the bike, yes you do.

AIS is a totally separate emmissions control thing. Disregard the fact that you don't have it.

Here's how to access your airbox.http://www.cartestsoftware.com/fz1/airfiltercheck.html
I have to take off the gas tank to access it? Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

I drained my tank to about half and added a healthy amount of sea foam. I cranked it and cranked it but it still wouldn't start. I'll let the sea foam do it's work and try again in several hours.
BrothahHeffay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:07 AM   #43
barryc
Registered User
 
barryc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Aurora, IL.
Posts: 2,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrothahHeffay View Post
I have to take off the gas tank to access it? Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

I drained my tank to about half and added a healthy amount of sea foam. I cranked it and cranked it but it still wouldn't start. I'll let the sea foam do it's work and try again in several hours.

The directions say 1oz. per gallon, but you probably wont hurt anything, I hope.
__________________
2006 FZ-1
barryc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:35 AM   #44
fermic37
Registered User
 
fermic37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,484
You can run your bike for a while with the fuel that’s left in the bowls and fuel lines with the tank off. You can also set your tank back on the bike after you remove your airbox lid.

Did you check to see if spark was getting to your plugs?
fermic37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 10:16 AM   #45
iluvmyfz1
Just enjoy the machine....
 
iluvmyfz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lake Park, FL
Posts: 4,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrothahHeffay View Post
I have to take off the gas tank to access it? Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

I drained my tank to about half and added a healthy amount of sea foam. I cranked it and cranked it but it still wouldn't start. I'll let the sea foam do it's work and try again in several hours.
Unless you drained all the carb bowls to get the SeaFoam down there, you're wasting your time. Also, SeaFoam isn't all that strong, so if you have some severely clogged jets, it's most likely another waste of time.

Did you try the starting fluid process?

That is a very quick process to let you know the engine simply needs some fuel to run, confirming that everything except fuel delivery is ok.

You could be getting fuel into the bowls, but if jets are clogged, then it isn't going to start.
__________________
-'03 FZ1- "Xena"- Custom Orange/Red paint- FuzzyOne mirror mod- SW Motech QR racks- Givi E460 top- E21 side cases- SS brake lines - Scorpion slip-on- R6 shock- Throttlemeisters- Sargent seat- R1 shift arm- Custom sprocket cover- Cheap ass battery- Extended passenger pegs - Gauge of Eternal Coolness - Valtermoto Rearsets - HIDs -
iluvmyfz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 11:21 AM   #46
Bad Moon
Registered User
 
Bad Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: At lunch with Grommet
Posts: 756
Where are you located? Maybe there is a member here that is local to you and able to help.
Bad Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 06:47 PM   #47
hotboot
pony boy carry me home
 
hotboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: D/FW
Posts: 13,352
This.
Maybe a small and trustworthy bike repair shop could evaluate it for you. Guessing in a dark lot after class plays out quickly, a few simple tools and the right juice would tell the future direction.
__________________
It's all about the good life and staying easy with the world - Lyle Lovett
hotboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:06 PM   #48
klj7734
Registered User
 
klj7734's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Slope
Posts: 1,359
I'll call it... Clogged jets.
Pull the carbs and clean them up right and she'll fire up 1st try.
klj7734 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:27 PM   #49
BrothahHeffay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 79
I forgot to mention, when I first got the bike I was stuck in hot summer traffic and the coolant reserve overflowed and sprayed everywhere, and the bike has slowly smoked coolant ever since, so I'm gonna flush that and check the lines as well as an oil change tomorrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotboot View Post
This.
Maybe a small and trustworthy bike repair shop could evaluate it for you. Guessing in a dark lot after class plays out quickly, a few simple tools and the right juice would tell the future direction.
There's a Yamaha stealership 2 miles from me with great google reviews that I might push it to, worst comes to worst (I'm in the Lacey area of WA) ya trouble shooting at night after class outside is getting kinda old haha. I need to get this running soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Moon View Post
Where are you located? Maybe there is a member here that is local to you and able to help.
98503

Quote:
Originally Posted by fermic37 View Post
You can run your bike for a while with the fuel that’s left in the bowls and fuel lines with the tank off. You can also set your tank back on the bike after you remove your airbox lid.

Did you check to see if spark was getting to your plugs?
Checking sparks and trying starter fluid after class tomorrow now that I know how, thanks!
BrothahHeffay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 06:04 AM   #50
Bad Moon
Registered User
 
Bad Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: At lunch with Grommet
Posts: 756
If I read correctly the last thing you did before it quit running was fill it with fuel. The first thing I would be checking is if you got bad fuel. You said you drained half the tank but the carburetor floats bowls could still be full of bad fuel. You need to drain the float bowls as well.
Bad Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 08:00 AM   #51
BrothahHeffay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Moon View Post
If I read correctly the last thing you did before it quit running was fill it with fuel. The first thing I would be checking is if you got bad fuel. You said you drained half the tank but the carburetor floats bowls could still be full of bad fuel. You need to drain the float bowls as well.
I drained bowl #1 but didn't see any water at the bottom, hard to be sure though because all I had was a used water bottle. That's why I'm going to use starter fluid today to rule out more problems hopefully.
BrothahHeffay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 01:03 AM   #52
MichaelFZ1
Off the deep end
 
MichaelFZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Georgia Piedmont
Posts: 346
You try that starter fluid?
__________________
2008 FZ1 Graphite Grey, ZG Smoke WS, BMC filter, Graves stacks, Ivan's flies, Ivan's FCE, PC3 with Ivan's tunes, Mivv exhaust, Comp Werkes FE, sequential tail lights
Average 41mpg
MichaelFZ1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 06:18 AM   #53
Gamecock
Retro Goodness!
 
Gamecock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 8,830
This is the stuff you want to use to clean carbs. Never ever have to question Yamalube stuff. Having worked side by side with the guy that heads up Yamalube for 5-years. I can tell you for a fact they do all their homework on all these products. They are make to Yamaha's specs and overengineered for them.

https://www.amazon.com/Yamalube-Carb.../dp/B002GU4SPA
__________________
2012 Yamaha Retro FZ1
1980 Yamaha XS650 Special II


To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins,...... ..we show them that the human spirit is still alive.
Gamecock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 05:36 PM   #54
BrothahHeffay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelFZ1 View Post
You try that starter fluid?
It started after spraying starter fluid in the intake box! ...and then died after a few seconds haha. This means my carbs need cleaning I assume?

Also my air filter was a little dirty but not that bad at all.
BrothahHeffay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 06:10 PM   #55
MichaelFZ1
Off the deep end
 
MichaelFZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Georgia Piedmont
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrothahHeffay View Post
It started after spraying starter fluid in the intake box! ...and then died after a few seconds haha. This means my carbs need cleaning I assume?

Also my air filter was a little dirty but not that bad at all.
Carbs are stopped up, or possibly you are still not getting fuel to the carbs. Kind of odd that all 4 would stop up simultaneously. Something's fishy.

Drain the bowls of the carbs and see if they refill. Making me wonder if you're getting fuel at all. I would get a new fuel filter regardless when you finally figure out your issue.
__________________
2008 FZ1 Graphite Grey, ZG Smoke WS, BMC filter, Graves stacks, Ivan's flies, Ivan's FCE, PC3 with Ivan's tunes, Mivv exhaust, Comp Werkes FE, sequential tail lights
Average 41mpg
MichaelFZ1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 08:02 PM   #56
BrothahHeffay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelFZ1 View Post
Carbs are stopped up, or possibly you are still not getting fuel to the carbs. Kind of odd that all 4 would stop up simultaneously. Something's fishy.

Drain the bowls of the carbs and see if they refill. Making me wonder if you're getting fuel at all. I would get a new fuel filter regardless when you finally figure out your issue.
Yeah I'll get a new fuel and air filter once I figure out the problem.


EDIT: I did check bowl #1 after draining it completely earlier to check gas condition, and it DID have more fuel today!

If I can't solve the problem by tomorrow, I'm probably just gonna take it to the stealership on monday :/

Last edited by BrothahHeffay; 10-14-2017 at 10:55 PM.
BrothahHeffay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 03:52 AM   #57
fermic37
Registered User
 
fermic37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,484
It’s for the best. If it’s your only ride and you have little mechanical knowledge then they should have it running quickest at this point
fermic37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 02:20 PM   #58
BrothahHeffay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 79
I woke up and almost cried when I was reminded no shops are open on mondays
BrothahHeffay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:41 AM   #59
PJFZ1
Doing the jig!
 
PJFZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Just looking for the Exit!
Posts: 20,223
I'm watching with interest - where are you located?
__________________
If loud pipes save lives, imagine what learning to ride that thing could do!

I'd insert something witty here, but just don't have it at the moment.. add bourbon and please stand by!

sportbikes4hire.com


http://www.sportbikes4hireshop.com/
PJFZ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:51 AM   #60
fermic37
Registered User
 
fermic37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,484
Seattle, per his other thread. Would be a great weekend trip for you to fly up and fix it!
fermic37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   FZ1OA Message Board > FZ1 & Fazer Owners Association > FZ1 Problems & Issues > Gen 1 Problems & Issues


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Questions? Comments?
Click on name below to contact via PM
Rabeet (Admin) Desmo (Admin)

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website and Message Board Contents Copyright 2001-2007 FZ1OA
The marks YAMAHA® and FZ1® are used under license from Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.
The information on this web site is NOT approved or endorsed by Yamaha Motor Corporation in any way.
Page generated in 0.08928 seconds with 11 queries